يشغل الدكتور شيرير منصب رئيس المعاهد البحثية الصحية التابع لمعاهد جلاكسو سميث كلاين في علوم الجينوم في مستشفى SickKids وجامعة تورونتو (UofT) بكندا. وهو مدير مركز UofT McLaughlin، بالإضافة إلى مركز الجينوم التطبيقية في SickKids. و ساهم الدكتور شيرر ومجموعته في الاكتشاف البارز لاختلاف عدد النسخ الجينية (CNV) كشكل شائع من أشكال التباين في الحمض النووي. لقد أظهروا ، خلافًا لعلم الوراثة الكلاسيكية، أن الجينات لا تأتي دائمًا في أزواج من اثنين على طول الكروموسومات. و قد حدد فريقه مختلف النسخ الجينية من جينات نمو عصبية معينة تساهم في مرض التوحد، كاشفين بذلك أن هذا الاضطراب السلوكي يمكن أن يكون له أساس بيولوجي محدد. و تسهل قاعدة بيانات المتغيرات الجينية التي أسسها الدكتور الآلاف من التشخيصات السريرية المستندة إلى CNV لمرض التوحد، والعديد من الأمراض الأخرى كل سنة في جميع أنحاء العالم. و قد تم توثيق أبحاثه في أكثر من 500 منشور تمت مراجعته من قِبل الأقران، وهو أحد أكثر العلماء استشهاداً به في العالم. حصل الدكتور شيرير على العديد من الأوسمة مثل منحة معهد هوارد هيوز الطبي وجائزة بريميير سوميت للأبحاث الطبية. وهو عضو متميز بالمعهد الكندي للبحوث المتقدمة والرابطة الأمريكية لتقدم العلوم والجمعية الملكية بكندا. في عام 2014، تم اختياره كحائز على جائزة طومسون رويترز للاستشهاد في مجال علم الفيزيولوجيا أو الطب “لاكتشاف الاختلاف الكبير في عدد النسخ الجينية وارتباطه بأمراض محددة”.

 

 

موجز عن المحاضرات:

1. الجينوم – الجينات – النتائج
اضطراب طيف التوحد (ASD) هو مرض غير متجانس، سواء ظاهريًا أو في بنيانه الوراثي. يوجد الآن المئات من الجينات التي تم العثور عليها المرتبطة بـ ASD، مع وجود خطر ساهمت فيه أنواع متعددة من الاختلافات النادرة والمشتركة في الجينوم. بعض الأفراد يحملون طفرات جينية نادرة واحدة (دي نوفو أو موروثة). و لدى البعض الآخر بدائل متعددة، ولهؤلاء وغيرهم من المصابين بالتوحد، قد تشارك مجموعة كاملة و متعددة من عوامل الخطر الوراثية.

تم إطلاق تقنية السلسلة الجينومية الكاملة (WGS) في جميع أنحاء العالم من خلال مشاريع واسعة النطاق لدراسة الآلاف من الأسر من مجموعات ASD والبنوك الحيوية. الهدف من هذا البحث هو فك شفرة تسلسلات الجينوم بأكملها بما في ذلك جميع المتغيرات الوراثية الخاصة بها، وربطها ببيانات النمط الظاهري المتاحة، وإتاحة مجموعات البيانات الجينومية / الظاهرية هذه للدراسة العلمية. و قبل ذلك، تطلب العثور على مجموعة كاملة من المتغيرات تقنيات متزايدة من النمط النووي، الـمصفوفات الدقيقة و الترتيب التسلسلي. مع WGS، يمكن للتجربة التي تبلغ تكلفتها حوالي 1000 دولار أمريكي إكمال المهمة في خطوة شاملة واحدة. حدد تسلسل WGS أشكالًا جديدة في ترميز البروتين وعدم ترميزه (مثل lncRNA ، والمناطق التنظيمية)، في أو بالقرب من الجينات التي لا تتعرف عليها التقنيات الأخرى.

إن النظرة الأكثر اكتمالا للجينوم يمكن أن تزيد من حصيلة النتائج ذات الصلة بالـ ASD أو الأمراض المرافقة لها وأن توفر سياقًا لتفسيرها. كما تسهم CNV الأصغر حجماً و SVs الأكثر تعقيدًا، والتي تفتقدها التقنيات الأخرى في كثير من الأحيان، بشكل كبير في مرض ASD. حاليا ما يقرب 100 من الجينات و مناطقCNV لديها قابلية للاختبار في تشخيص ASD. من خلال بيانات متسقة عبر العديد من الدراسات، تم العثور على أن الجينات المشاركة في الالتصاق المَشْبَكِيّ والعصبي، وتنظيم النسخ العصبي، ومعالجة الحمض النووي الريبوزي تساهم في ASD ، مما يوفر نقاط دخول جديدة لتطوير الدواء.

سيقدم هذا العرض نظرة عامة على نتائج الدراسات الجينية الرئيسية المنشورة، والبيانات والموارد المتاحة، وأهم التطورات العلمية ذات الصلة التي تعود بالنفع على الأفراد والأسر المصابين بالتوحد في جميع أنحاء العالم.

2. التطورات الحاصلة في الاختبارات الجينية لاضطراب طيف التوحد

اضطرابات طيف التوحد (ASDs) هي مجموعة غير متجانسة من اضطرابات النمو العصبي التي تؤثر على التواصل الاجتماعي واللغة والسلوك ، كما يمكن أن يصاحبه العديد من المضاعفات الطبية. و غالبًا ما يكون السبب (أو الأسباب) الكامنة وراء إصابة شخص ما مبهمة و غير واضحة ، باستثناء المتلازمات الوراثية المعروفة سريريًا المؤكدة بالتشخيص الجزيئي ، مثل متلازمة الكروموسوم “إكس الهش”. و يتعامل علماء الوراثة الإكلينيكية مع مرضى التوحد عن طريق استبعاد المتلازمات الجينية المعروفة ، مما يترك أكثر من 80 ٪ من العائلات دون تشخيص نهائي وخطر تكرار غير مؤكد. و قد كشفت التطورات في تقنية المايكروأراي وتسلسل إكسوم وتسلسل الجينوم الكامل الآن عن متغيرات وراثية نادرة في الجينات مع أدوار مهمة في تكوين التشابكات العصبية والوظائف ونضم الصيانة. كما تم العثور على أن العديد من هذه الجينات نفسها التي تُعتبر الآن ذات صلة سببية / تشخيصية في اضطراب طيف التوحد متورطة في الإعاقة الذهنية ، والصرع ، وفي الاضطرابات العصبية والنفسية الأخرى مثل مرض انفصام الشخصية واضطراب فرط الحركة ونقص الانتباه ، وحتى في الحالات المعقدة الأخرى مثل الشلل الدماغي. يمكن أيضًا استخدام المتغيرات الوراثية الشائعة التي يتم الكشف عنها من خلال تحليلات أحدث للجينات. من المعروف الآن أن المتغيرات الجسدية متورطة في اضطراب طيف التوحد ، مما يزيد من تعقيد التأويلات ، و التي على الرغم منها ، هناك تقدم في الارتباط الوراثي والنمط الظاهري الموافق ، مما يتيح التعرف على الجينات المخترقة و مدى تغير عدد نسخ الحمض النووي ، ويمكن استخدامها لتشخيص مؤكد وكذا في التشخيص المبكر. سيركز هذا العرض على مقاربة الوراثة السريرية في اضطرابات طيف التوحد ، في ظل المعرفة الراهنة حول بنيتهم الوراثية المعقدة.

3. جلسة للتفكير

Prof. Stephen Scherer

البروفيسور ستيفن شيرير

مدير مركز جامعة ماكلوفلين بجامعة تورنتو ومركز الجينوم التطبيقية في SickKids بتورنتو

Prof. Stephen Scherer

Prof. Stephen Scherer

Director of the University of Toronto McLaughlin Centre & the Centre for Applied Genomics at SickKids in Toronto
Canada

Dr. Scherer holds the GlaxoSmithKline-Canadian Institutes of Health Research Endowed Chair in Genome Sciences at The Hospital for Sick Children (SickKids) and University of Toronto (UofT) in Canada. He is the Director of the UofT McLaughlin Centre, as well as The Centre for Applied Genomics at SickKids. Dr. Scherer and his group contributed to the landmark discovery of gene copy number variation (CNV) as a common form of variation in DNA. They showed, contrary to classical genetics, that genes don’t always come in pairs of two along chromosomes. His team then identified CNV of specific neurodevelopmental genes to contribute to the etiology of autism, revealing this behavioral disorder can have a specific biological basis. The Database of Genomic Variants he founded facilitates thousands of CNV-based clinical diagnoses of autism, and many other diseases, each year, worldwide. His research is documented in over 500 peer-reviewed publications and he is one of the most highly cited scientists in the world. Dr. Scherer has won numerous honors such as a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Scholarship, and the Premier’s Summit Award for Medical Research. He is a distinguished Fellow of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the Royal Society of Canada. In 2014, he was selected as a Thomson Reuters Citation Laureate in the field of Physiology or Medicine for “the discovery of large-scale CNV and its association with specific diseases”.

 

 

Short Description of the Lectures:

1. Genome – Genes – Outcome

Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) is heterogeneous, both phenotypically and in its genetic architecture. There are now hundreds of genes found associated with ASD, with risk contributed by multiple types of rare and common genome-wide variation. Some individuals carry single rare (de novo or inherited) penetrant gene alterations. Others have multiple variants, and for these and others with ASD, a whole host of (poly)-genic risk factors may be involved.

Whole genome sequencing (WGS) technology has been launched worldwide by large-scale projects to study thousands of families from ASD cohorts and biobanks. The goal of this research is to decode entire genome sequences including all their genetic variants, link to available phenotype data, and make these massive genomic/phenotypic datasets available for scientific study. Before this, to find the complete spectrum of variants has required the incremental technologies of karyotyping, microarray, panel-sequencing and exome-sequencing. With WGS, an experiment costing about USA$1000 can complete the task in a single comprehensive step.  WGS sequencing has identified new variants in protein-coding and non-coding (e.g., lncRNA, regulatory) regions, in or near genes missed by other technologies.

A more complete view of the entire genome can increase the yield of findings relevant for ASD or its co-morbidities and provide context for their interpretation. Smaller CNVs and more complex SVs, often missed by other technologies, also contribute significantly in the aetiology of ASD. Approximately 100 gene and CNV regions currently have value for testing in ASD diagnostics. Through data consistent across many studies, genes involved in synaptic and neural adhesion, neural transcriptional regulation, and RNA processing are found to be involved in ASD, offering new entry points for drug development.

The presentation will provide an overview of results of the major published genetic and genomic studies, the data and resources available, and the most relevant scientific advances benefiting individuals and families with autism worldwide.

2. Advances in Genetic Testing for Autism Spectrum Disorder

Autism spectrum disorders (ASDs) are a heterogeneous group of neurodevelopmental disorders affecting social communication, language, and behavior, and there can also be many medical complications involved. The underlying cause(s) in a given individual is often elusive, with the exception of clinically recognizable genetic syndromes with readily available molecular diagnosis, such as fragile X syndrome. Clinical geneticists approach patients with ASDs by ruling out known genetic and genomic syndromes, leaving more than 80% of families without a definitive diagnosis and an uncertain risk of recurrence. Advances in microarray technology, exome sequencing, and now whole genome sequencing are revealing rare genetic variants in genes with important roles in synapse formation, function, and maintenance. Many of these same genes now deemed etiologically relevant/diagnostic in ASD are found to be involved in intellectual disability, epilepsy, in neuropsychiatric disorders like schizophrenia and ADHD, and even in other complex conditions like cerebral palsy. Common genetic variants can also be involved as is being revealed through more recent polygenic risk score analyses. Somatic variants are now also known to be involved in ASD, further complicating interpretations. Notwithstanding these complexities, there is progress in genotype and phenotype correlations enabling the identification of penetrant genes and CNVs, and these can be used for confirmatory diagnosis, and to inform early diagnosis. This presentation will focus on the clinical genetics approach to ASDs, given the current state of knowledge about their complex genetic architecture.

3. Reflection Session