تخرجت الدكتورة سهام من كلية الطب بجامعة السلطان قابوس وأتمت سنة التدريب الداخلي في مستشفيات تعليمية مختلفة في سلطنة عمان. ثم غادرت إلى مونتريال، كندا، لمتابعة التدريب في الإقامة العامة لطب الأطفال، تلتها زمالة في أمراض الجهاز الهضمي للأطفال والتغذية بمستشفى مونتريال للأطفال في جامعة ماكجيل. ثم انضمت بعد ذلك إلى مستشفى كينجز كوليدج بلندن، المملكة المتحدة، حيث قامت بتدريب إضافي في أمراض الكبد عند الأطفال. ثم عادت إلى عمان للعمل كطبيبة أطفال بدوام كامل وأخصائية أمراض الجهاز الهضمي للأطفال بقسم صحة الطفل في مستشفى جامعة السلطان قابوس (SQUH) من عام 2009 إلى نوفمبر 2014 حيث قادت خلالها عيادات عامة لأمراض الجهاز الهضمي والكبد للأطفال في SQUH .
لديها بعض المنشورات في المجلات الدولية والمحلية / الإقليمية في هذا المجال. وهي مراجعة في عدد من المجلات مثل مجلة علم السموم السريرية ومجلة عمان الطبية والمجلة الطبية بجامعة السلطان قابوس. وهي أيضًا عضو في المنظمات الدولية لأمراض الجهاز الهضمي للأطفال والتربية الطبية.
و في أبريل 2015، تم تعيينها مديرة شؤون التدريب في OMSB. و يعتني القسم بأكثر من 600 مقيم و يغطي العديد من الجوانب مثل القبول والتسجيل والتدريب والأداء الأكاديمي والرفاهية وإصدار الشهادات والكثير من الأمور الأخرى.
ترأس حاليًا للجنة الأكاديمية التنفيذية وتشكل عضوا نشيطا في عدد من اللجان الأخرى مثل مجلس أمناء OMSB ، والمجلس التنفيذي، ولجنة التعليم الطبي العليا.

 

 

موجز عن المحاضرة:

1. مشاكل الجهاز الهضمي في مرض التوحد
قد تصاحب مشاكل الجهاز الهضمي (GI) اضطراب طيف التوحد (ASD). و تبلغ نسبة انتشار أعراض مشاكل الجهاز الهضمي عند الأطفال الذين يعانون من التوحد 23 – 70 ٪. غير أن هذه النسبة تبقى غير معروفة عند الأطفال العمانيين المصابين. لقد أجرينا دراسة لتحديد مدى انتشار أعراض مشاكل الجهاز الهضمي لدى الأطفال العمانيين الذين يعانون من التوحد وقمنا بمقارنتها مع أشقائهم الأصحاء كنماذج نمائية مرجعية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، قمنا بتحديد التغييرات السلوكية التي تتجلى عند الأطفال الذين يعانون من التوحد والتي يمكن اعتبارها كمؤشرات دالة على وجود مشاكل محتملة بالجهاز الهضمي. و تم الحصول على أعراض مشاكل الجهاز الهضمي من خلال استمارة تم ملؤها عن طريق إجراء مقابلات مع أولياء الأمور لـ 102 طفل مصاب بالتوحد ومقارنها مع 102 من الأشقاء الأصحاء. هذه الدراسة هي أول دراسة تم الإبلاغ عنها توثق انتشار أعراض الإصابة باضطرابات الجهاز الهضمي عند الأطفال العمانيين المصابين بالتوحد(ASD) ومقارنتها بإخوانهم الأصحاء.

Siham Al Sinani

سهام السناني

مسؤول مؤسسي معين ، مدير
قسم التعليم الطبي العالي، مجلس عمان الطبي التخصصي
استشاري أمراض الجهاز الهضمي للأطفال و أمراض الكبد والتغذية
سلطنة عمان

Siham Al Sinani

Siham Al Sinani

Designated Institutional Official, Director
Graduate Medical Education Department, Oman Medical Specialty Board
Senior Consultant Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition
Oman

Dr. Siham graduated from College of Medicine at Sultan Qaboos University and completed the internship year at different teaching hospitals in Oman. She then left for Montreal, Canada, to pursue training in General Pediatric Residency followed by fellowship in Pediatric Gastroenterology and Nutrition at the Montreal Children’s Hospital in McGill University. She then joined King’s College Hospital, London, UK, where she had further training in Pediatric Hepatology. She came back to Oman to work as a full-time pediatrician and a pediatric gastroenterologist at the Department of Child Health in Sultan Qaboos University Hospital (SQUH) from 2009 to November 2014 during which she has established a pediatric general GI and Hepatology clinics at SQUH.

She has some publications in both international and local/regional journals in this field. She is an invited reviewer for few journals such as Journal of Clinical Toxicology, Oman Medical Journal and Sultan Qaboos University Medical Journal. She is also a member of International Pediatric Gastroenterology and National Medical and Medical Education organizations.

In April 2015, she was appointed as the director of training affairs at OMSB. The department looks after more than 600 residents in many aspects such as admission and registration, training, academic performance, wellness, certification and many other aspects.

She is currently the chairperson of the Executive Academic Committee and an active member of few other committees such as OMSB Board of Trustees, Executive Board, and Graduate Medical Education Committee.

 

 

Short Description of the Lectures:

1. GI Problems in Autism

Autism spectrum disorder (ASD) may be associated with gastrointestinal (GI) conditions. Prevalence of GI symptoms in children with ASD is 23 – 70 %. Prevalence of GI symptoms in Omani children with ASD and their effect on behavioral impairment is not known. We conducted a study to determine the prevalence of GI symptoms in Omani children with ASD and compared them with healthy siblings of typical development (TD). In addition, we determined the behavioral changes manifested in children with ASD that can be considered as indicators of possible GI symptoms presence.  The presence of GI symptom was obtained through a questionnaire filled by interviewing parents of 102 children with ASD and compared to 102 healthy siblings with TD. This study is the first reported study documenting GI symptoms prevalence in Omani children with ASD and comparing them to their healthy siblings with TD.