الدكتور شيه هو نائب الرئيس الأول للصحة العامة والإدماج في التوحد يتحدث، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية. انضم إلى Autism” “Speaks عام 2006 بعد اندماجها مع التحالف الوطني لأبحاث التوحد، حيث شغل منصب كبير المسؤولين العلميين.
د. شيه حاصل على الدكتوراه في البيولوجيا الخلوية والجزيئية من كلية الطب بجامعة نيويورك، وتتضمن خلفيته البحثية دراسات منشورة في تحديد المورثات وتوصيفها، والتفاعل بين الخلايا و الفيروسات، وتنظيم دورة الخلية. كان له دور فعال في استنساخ عائلة من GTPases الصغيرة المشاركة في التحكم في دورة الخلية والنقل النووي، ويحمل ثلاث براءات اختراع في التشخيص والعلاجات المبنية على الأحماض النووية.
قاد الدكتور شيه تطوير العديد من اتحادات البحوث الدولية الكبيرة التي قدمت نتائج علمية عالية التأثير في المجتمع، شملت البحث عن المورثات المسؤولة عن التوحد من خلال مشروع Autism Genome Project؛ معدل تكرار منقح قدره 19 في المائة لأشقاء الأطفال المصابين من قِبل Baby Siblings Research Consortium؛ تدخلات جديدة برعاية الوالدين من قبل Toddler Treatment Network؛ عمر الوالدين كعامل خطر من قبل iCARE؛ وتقديرات معدلات الانتشار الأولية في كوريا الجنوبية وبلدان أخرى.
بعد صدور قرار لتخصيص يوم عالمي للتوعية بالتوحد في عام 2008 في الأمم المتحدة، قاد الدكتور شيه مبادرة Global Autism (Public Health (GAPH التي توفر الدعم التقني لحكومات الدول لتعزيز الوعي والدفاع والبحث وخدمات التوحد في جميع أنحاء العالم. بالإضافة إلى تسهيل إصدار قرارات إضافية حول التوحد والإعاقة النمائية في الأمم المتحدة وجمعية الصحة العالمية، و ساهمت البحوث المتعلقة بالـ GAPH في تطوير ونشر مناهج مبتكرة لبناء القدرات و تعزيز خدمات التوحد والإعاقة النمائية في المجتمعات ذات الموارد المحدودة.

بصفته نائب الرئيس الأول للصحة العامة والإدماج، يدعم الدكتور شيه وفريقه حاليًا الوزارات والهيئات الحكومية وأيضاً المنظمات غير الحكومية الرائدة في أكثر من 70 دولة لتقديم نتائج و حياة أفضل لعشرات الملايين من الأفراد والأسر.

 

موجز عن المحاضرة:

1. الشبكات الإقليمية والدولية لمرض التوحد
سيتم مناقشة مشروع “التوحد يتحدث” ومشاركة مجتمع التوحد العالمي في إطار رعاية التنشئة التابع لمنظمة الصحة العالمية، مع التركيز على تطوير وتنفيذ برامج التدريب على مهارات مقدمي الرعاية، وهو تدخل متعدد الجوانب يركز على الأسرة، بالتعاون مع منظمة الصحة العالمية.
2. جلسة للتفكير و التأمل: حلقة نقاش

Prof. Andy Shih

 د. أندي شيه

نائب الرئيس الأول للصحة العامة والإدماج في “التوحد يتحدث”
نيويورك، الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية

Prof. Andy Shih

Dr. Andy Shih

Senior Vice President, Public Health and Inclusion at Autism Speaks
New York, USA

Dr. Shih is the Senior Vice President, Public Health and Inclusion, Autism Speaks, USA. He joined Autism Speaks in 2006, after its merger with the National Alliance for Autism Research, where he served as chief science officer.

Dr. Shih holds a Ph.D. in molecular cell biology from New York University School of Medicine, and his research background includes published studies in gene identification and characterization, virus-cell interaction, and cell-cycle regulation. He was instrumental in the cloning of a family of small GTPases involved in cell-cycle control and nuclear transport, and he holds three patents on nucleic acids-based diagnostics and therapeutics.

Dr. Shih led the development of several large international research consortia that delivered high impact scientific outcomes for the community. They include research on autism risk genes by the Autism Genome Project; a revised recurrence rate of 19 percent for siblings of affected children by the Baby Siblings Research Consortium; novel parent-mediated interventions by the Toddler Treatment Network; parental age as a risk factor by iCARE; and the first prevalence estimates in South Korea and other countries.

After the 2008 passage of the World Autism Awareness Day resolution at the United Nations, Dr. Shih led the development of the Global Autism Public Health (GAPH) initiative that provides technical support to country governments to enhance autism awareness, advocacy, research and services worldwide. In addition to facilitating the passage of additional autism and developmental disabilities resolutions at the United Nations and the World Health Assembly, GAPH-related research contributed to the development and dissemination of innovative capacity-building approaches to enhance autism and developmental disabilities services in low-resource communities.
As senior vice president of public health and inclusion, Dr. Shih and his team currently support ministries, government agencies and leading nongovernmental organizations in more than 70 countries to deliver better outcomes and quality of life for tens of millions of individuals and families.

 

 

Short Description of the Lecture:

1. Regional & International Networking in Autism

Autism Speaks and the global autism community’s participation in the WHO Nurturing Care Framework will be discussed, with emphasis on the development and implementation of the Caregiver Skills Training program, a versatile family-centered intervention, in collaboration with the WHO.

2. Reflection Session: Panel Discussion